Firm Award

The AIA North Carolina Firm Award is the highest honor the Chapter can bestow upon a firm. The award shall be given to a North Carolina firm that has:

- Demonstrated great depth and breadth of their work, having a cumulative effect on the profession of architecture
- Produced work that is a product of a collaborative environment, consistently addresses the future of architecture, and positively contributes to the fabric of the community that it serves
- Transcended or united specific areas of expertise
- Become widely known and respected by clients, colleagues, and the public for the quality of their work

Consideration given to firms with a demonstrated commitment to environmental stewardship.

Eligibility

North Carolina architectural firms practicing for at least 10 years under the leadership of either a single AIA North Carolina member principal or several AIA North Carolina member principals are eligible for the Firm Award. In addition, firms that have been reorganized and whose name has been changed or modified are also eligible, as long as the firm has been in operation in North Carolina for a period of at least 10 years. Although firms that are headquartered in other states or firms that perform the majority of their work in other states or countries are eligible, the firm's work and impact within the state of North Carolina shall be of primary consideration. A firm owned or managed by (1) officers of the Chapter Board or (2) members of the Chapter Awards Committee shall not be eligible for consideration.

Nominations

Nominations are due by August 23, 2024.

Submissions

All submissions must be submitted online. Please create a single PDF file and upload to our awards system.

Submissions are due by September 13, 2024

The submissions, **not to exceed 25 8** ½" **x 11**" **pages**, should include the following information:

- 1. A nomination letter summarizing the firm's contributions (one page)
- 2. A brief biography of all firm principals and a history of the firm (max. two pages)
- 3. Descriptive statements and images of the firm's work. (max. 10 pages)

- 4. Statement or list of the firm's achievements and awards (max. two pages)
- 5. Signed letters by clients attesting to the firm's excellence and/or high level of performance (max. five letters)
- 6. Optional: Additional miscellaneous material, including articles, clippings, and/or letters of support (max. five pages)

Previous winners

1998 O'Brien/Atkins Associates Research Triangle Park

1999 Walter Robbs Callahan Pierce Architects Winston-Salem

2000 Lee Nichols Architecture Charlotte

2001 The Freelon Group Research Triangle Park

2002 Boney Wilmington

2003 Dixon Weinstein Architects Chapel Hill

2004 Pearce Brinkley Cease + Lee Raleigh

2005 Freeman White Charlotte

2006 Gant Huberman Architects Charlotte

2007 Clearscapes Raleigh

2008 Shook Kelley Charlotte

2009 Cherry Huffman Architects, PA Raleigh

2010 BJAC Raleigh

2011 Mathews Architecture Asheville

2012 Duda/Paine Architects Durham

2013 Little Charlotte

2014 Szostak Design, Inc. Chapel Hill

2015 Cannon Architecture Raleigh

2016 Samsel Architects Asheville

2017 Clark Nexsen

2018 LS3P

2019 Cline Design

2020 C Design

2021 Jenkins Peer

2022 HH Architecture

2023 in situ studio