

AIA North Carolina F. Carter Williams Gold Medal

This is the highest honor presented by the Chapter to a member of AIA North Carolina. It is awarded to an individual in recognition of a distinguished career or extraordinary accomplishments as an architect. The award is named in memory of Raleigh architect F. Carter Williams, FAIA.

Eligibility

A current or deceased member of AIA North Carolina whom the Board believes qualified is eligible to receive the

Gold Medal. No more than one such award shall be made in any year. Individuals who are current officers of the Chapter Board or members of the Chapter Awards Committee are ineligible for consideration.

Nominations

Nominations may be made by members, the public or by AIA North Carolina Sections. Nominations are due by August 23, 2024.

Submissions

All submissions must be submitted online. Please create a single PDF file and upload to our awards system.

Submissions are due by September 13, 2024

The submissions, **not to exceed 20 8** ½" **x 11**" **pages**, should include the following information:

- 1. A nomination letter that summarizes the contributions made by the individual
- 2. A brief biography of the nominee
- 3. Miscellaneous material (clippings, articles, etc.)
- Letters of support, not to exceed five, from AIA North Carolina members; letters should be explicit in their recommendation and contain specific reasons for support.

Previous Winners

1998 Lloyd G. Walter, Jr., FAIA - Winston-Salem 1999 J. Hyatt Hammond, FAIA - Greensboro 2000 Marley P. Carroll, FAIA - Charlotte 2001 Herbert P. McKim, FAIA - Wilmington

- 2002 Jeffrey Huberman, FAIA Charlotte
- 2003 Charles Boney, Sr., FAIA Wilmington
- 2004 S. Scott Ferebee, Jr., FAIA Charlotte
- 2005 John L. Atkins III, FAIA Triangle
- 2006 Macon S. Smith, FAIA Triangle
- 2007 Paul D. Boney, FAIA Wilmington
- 2008 Gail A. Lindsey, FAIA Wake Forest
- 2009 Jay Peterson, FAIA Wilmington
- 2010 Philip G. Freelon, FAIA Triangle
- 2011 Marvin J. Malecha, FAIA Triangle
- 2012 Steven D. Schuster, FAIA Triangle
- 2013 Frank Harmon, FAIA Triangle
- 2014 Edwin F. "Abie" Harris, Jr., FAIA Triangle
- 2015 Mary Louise "Lou" Jurkowski, FAIA Triangle
- 2016 Roger Clark, FAIA Triangle
- 2017 Harvey B. Gantt, FAIA Charlotte
- 2018 Phil Szostak, FAIA Triangle
- 2019 Katherine Peele, FAIA Triangle
- 2020 Darrell Williams, FAIA Charlotte
- 2021 Turan Duda, FAIA Triangle
- <u>2022 Dennis Stallings, FAIA Triangle</u>
- 2023 Walt Teague, FAIA