

# William H. Deitrick Service Medal

The AIA North Carolina William H. Deitrick Service Medal will be presented to an AIA North Carolina member who exhibits extraordinary service to the community, profession, or AIA North Carolina. The medal is named in honor of the late William Henley Deitrick, FAIA, a former president of AIA North Carolina.

## **Eligibility**

A current or deceased member of AIA North Carolina is eligible to receive the Deitrick Service Medal. No more

than one such award shall be made in any year. Individuals who are current officers of the Chapter Board or members of the Chapter Awards Committee are ineligible for consideration. The selection will be made from one of the following categories:

#### Service to the Community

This category recognizes the work of architects who serve as elected officials, public administrators or institutional leaders and establish and contribute to the development of laws, regulations and policies that promote excellence in architecture

#### Service to the Chapter

This category recognizes the work of architects that, by their skill, professionalism, dedication, ability, and commitment, have consistently advanced the common goals of AIA North Carolina.

#### Service to the Profession

This category recognizes the work of architects who have had a significant impact on the profession of architecture and its public perception as a profession.

### Nominations

Nominations may be made by members, the public, or by AIA North Carolina Sections. Nominations are due by **August 17, 2023**.

### **Submissions**

All submissions must be submitted online. Please create a single PDF file and upload to our awards system.

#### Submissions are due by September 15, 2023

The submissions, not to exceed 20 8  $\frac{1}{2}$  x 11" pages, should include the following information:

- 1. A nomination letter by the AIA member, group of members, component or committee.
- 2. A brief biography of the nominee, including a list of offices, positions, honors, achievements, publications or presentations that relate to the award's purpose.
- 3. Letters of support (**no more than 5**) that give testament to the achievement presented.
- 4. Exhibits, if appropriate for the nominee, to illustrate accomplishments that relate to the award's purpose.

### **Previous winners**

1995 S. Scott Ferebee, Jr., FAIA Charlotte 1996 Leslie N. Boney, Jr., FAIA Wilmington 1997 Danie A. Johnson, AIA Asheville 1998 Sam T. Snowdon, Jr., AIA Laurinburg 1999 Carole Hoefener, AIA (posthumous) Charlotte 2000 Thomas P. Turner, FAIA Charlotte 2001 Macon S. Smith, FAIA Raleigh 2002 William Hemphill, Jr., FAIA Charlotte 2003 James Mason, AIA (posthumous) Raleigh 2004 Robert Pascal Burns, FAIA Raleigh 2005 Paul Davis Boney, FAIA Wilmington 2006 No recipient chosen 2007 Dennis J. Hall, FAIA Charlotte 2008 Alan D. McGuinn, AIA Asheville 2009 Katherine Peele, FAIA Raleigh 2010 James E. Rains, Jr., FAIA Ramseur 2011 Walton R. Teague, FAIA Greensboro 2012 James N. Bartl, AIA Charlotte 2013 Mike Cox, FAIA Asheville 2014 Irvin A. Pearce, FAIA Raleigh 2015 Jane G. Mathews, FAIA Asheville 2016 Cheryl Walker, FAIA - Charlotte 2017 Charles "Chuck" L. Travis, FAIA Cornelius 2018 Kevin Montgomery, FAIA – RTP 2019 Erin Sterling Lewis, FAIA - Raleigh 2020 Chris Brasier, FAIA - Raleigh 2021 No Recipient 2022 J. Richard Alsop, Jr, FAIA - Charlotte