

AIA North Carolina and the North Carolina Architectural Foundation Kamphoefner Prize

Established by Henry and Mabel Kamphoefner, the Kamphoefner Prize encourages individuals and firms to pursue the fundamental principles of the modern movement in architecture. The \$10,000 prize is awarded annually at the Summer Design Conference as funds permit.

Eligibility

The prize will be awarded to a licensed architect, or architectural firm currently practicing in North Carolina which has, for a sustained period of not less than 10 years, consistently contributed the most to the progress and excellence in the development of the Modern Movement in architecture. This is best understood by reading the words written by Henry Kamphoefner for the award certificate:

"The selection committee for this award believes that the chosen architect has demonstrated a consistent integrity and devotion over an acceptable period of time to further the development of the modern movement in architecture without yielding to any of the undesirable current clichés, neomodernistic mannerisms or artless historicism that have flawed the building culture of today." – *Henry Kamphoefner*

The candidate must be a member of the North Carolina Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Nominations

Nominations may be made by members of AIA North Carolina and the Kamphoefner Prize Committee. The committee is comprised of the past recipients of the Kamphoefner Prize. Nominations are due by September 5, 2022.

Submissions

All submissions must be submitted online. Please create a single PDF file and upload to our awards system.

Submissions are due by September 25, 2022

The submissions are not to exceed 40 8 ½" x 11" pages, and should include the following information:

- A nomination letter is not required.
- Design portfolio with descriptive statements and images of the nominees work including site plans, floor plans, sections, elevations and any additional conceptual sketches or diagrams.
- Three letters of support.

Previous winners

1988 J. Norman Pease Jr., FAIA

1990 Murray Whisnant, FIAIA

1991 Brian Shawcroft, AIA

1992 Philip A. Shive, FAIA

1993 Ligon B. Flynn, FAIA

1994 Marley P. Carroll, FAIA

1995 Frank Harmon, FAIA

1996 Lee Nicholas Helper Architecture

1997 Kenneth E. Hobgood, FAIA

1999 Ellen Weinstein, AIA

2001 Thomas B. Moore, AIA

2010 Jeffery S. Lee, FAIA and Phil Szostak, FAIA

2011 no recipient

2012 Arthur Cogswell, FAIA (posthumously)

Roger Cannon, FAIA

2013 no recipient

2014 no recipient

2015 no recipient

2016 Dennis Stallings, FAIA

2017 tonic design

2018 Bob Thomas, AIA

2019 Kenneth Luker, AIA

2020 no recipient

2021 Matthew Griffith, AIA